2016 Students United Alumni Award Nominations Now Open

The 2016 Alumni Award Nominations are now open and due by October 1st! 

The purpose of this award is to recognize an outstanding state university graduate who provides a great benefit to the community. The award is given in recognition of outstanding professional, volunteer or personal accomplishments. From the nominees submitted, one recipient will be chosen by the Students United selection committee. The winner will be notified and invited to speak at the fall Students United Delegates Assembly Conference. 


To be eligible for nomination the nominee must:

  • Have graduated from one of the seven Minnesota State Universities, and
  • Have prior Students United (MSUSA) involvement (e.g. Officer, Board Member, Campus Committee Member, Delegate, or other involvement)

Please note: any person may nominate a candidate OR a candidate may nominate him or herself

Here are the past Students United Outstanding Alumni Award Winners:

  • Tony Rust, 2012
  • Tim Huebsch, 2013
  • Kara Brockett, 2014
  • Brad Krasaway, 2015

Stay tuned for "where are they now posts" on our past awardees throughout the month of September! To nominate someone for this award or for more information click here

The Students United Outstanding Alumni Award was established in 2012 to honor the memory of Andrea Ruesch who passed away in 2009 at the age of 37. Andrea Ruesch graduated from Minnesota State University Moorhead in 1995, was Students United State Chair during 1994-95 and also served as Students United Director of Development during 1999-2002.  Her enthusiasm, skills and professionalism made a lasting, positive contribution to Students United.